Blog Post #45: “All This Under A Magnificent Blue Sky”

Posted on Updated on

We’ve been kind of, not really, reading a new book in my English class. It’s called “Night” by Elie Wiesel and for those of you who aren’t familiar with it, it’s a nonfiction record of Wiesel’s Jewish community in the Auschwitz concentration camp during the Holocaust.

We haven’t read very far into it, but one of the lines that really struck me and stuck with me was,

“All this under a magnificent blue sky.”

I like to think that even though line is juxtaposing the terrifying events occurring Wiesel, it can be treated as universal and timeless. It could be talking about us.. now. As I’m writing this, someone else is winning a couple bucks on a scratcher lottery and another person is watching their mother or father drown in alcohol, and the only thing that any of us has in common is the magnificent blue sky that we spend our petty years underneath.

I think this is a really good thing to remember, especially when you’re feeling down and a little irritable. You have to remember that everyone is fighting their own battles, and no one has a life without inconveniences or difficulties. You can’t take out your anger on people because they seem happy. Everyone has some kind of suffering.

Some people just hide it better.

And even though that’s so totally NOT what this book is about, that’s what I think this line has taught me in a more broad context.

3 thoughts on “Blog Post #45: “All This Under A Magnificent Blue Sky”

    partyofone said:
    May 26, 2014 at 10:44 pm

    I think, in a way, this is what the book was about. There are gonna be times in your life when you and you personally are struggling to survive. You can be fighting against some external force or you can be battling with yourself. And you will have to make a choice to put yourself first. And that’s totally fine. It’s only natural. And you have to remember that you can only help your loved ones be happy if you are actually happy yourself. But once you find the strength within yourself to carry on, the best thing you can do is try to instill it in other people.
    I love you, Stephanie šŸ™‚ You are one of the strongest people I know.

      stephanieaaaaa responded:
      June 17, 2014 at 6:50 pm

      AWW CELINE!! I don’t know why I didn’t see this comment before just now, but it still means so much. I think after everything that’s happened, no one understands true strength and self-love and self-care better than you do. And I’m so thankful to have you as an example in my life. I love you too so much, and I am in awe of you (and your brilliant Facebook statuses ;)) everyday.

        partyofone said:
        June 19, 2014 at 8:59 pm

        Thanks Stephanie! I live off of your positive enthusiasm and just your overall love for life. We’ve gotten a lot closer this year and I’m just so grateful for the bond that has grown between us. ā¤

Leave a Reply

