Blog Post #39: The Dream

Posted on Updated on

Alright, so as many of you may or may not know, my English class is reading “The Count of Monte Cristo” by Alexandre Dumas. And since I know how much you all LOVE when I quote books I read (I kid), I have another one for you!

While Dantes is beginning to carry out his revenge against Villefort, Danglars, Fernand, and all those other guys, he sort of lets go of himself and reveals a little more to Villefort. Not about his plan, but about himself and everything he’s made of.

“The domains of kings are limited by natural barriers of changes of customs or language. My kingdom is as large as the world, for I am neither Italian, French, Hindu, American or Spanish: I am a cosmopolite. I adopt all customs and I speak all languages.”

Literally, even though Dantes is a 33-year-old man whose only goal in life is to get back at the people that put him in jail, he is living the life.

Abbe Faria taught him so much, and he’s traveled to every country and has seen so many things and met so many people and he thinks of the world as his own and that’s is everything I dream of.

I wish I knew every language, not to eavesdrop on people or something, but just to have a deeper connection with people even on the other side of the world. I’m learning Spanish right now, my third language, but how amazing would it be if you could talk to everyone?! All those people, and all that inspiration, and ideas – all just flowing through you and bringing you closer to “the far corners of the world”.

It truly is an idea, isn’t it? And I can’t really expand on it much more than that.

Just to learn forever and connect with people through that knowledge, whether it be language or anything else, to call the yourself a citizen of, not the Unites States or Great Britain or Canada or Russia, but of the world. Truly that, my friends, is the dream.

2 thoughts on “Blog Post #39: The Dream

    David Theriault said:
    June 17, 2014 at 6:01 pm

    Your blog is so rad…. you should have shared it out. Be proactive in sharing your creativity.

      stephanieaaaaa responded:
      June 17, 2014 at 6:45 pm

      I didn’t think my blog was share-worthy, but thank you and I will.

Leave a Reply

