Blog Post #27: This Didn’t End The Way I Expected

Posted on Updated on

bp27

I think I speak for a lot of people when I say that people who are sad and upset about something make me just plain uncomfortable.

I don’t mean to sound like a complete jerk or anything, but I just feel so awful for them that I don’t know how to respond. I want nothing more than to comfort them and tell them that everything will be okay, but I have never truly felt that disappointed in anything that I don’t know how.

It’s a blessing; I have been so very fortunate to never have experienced that kind of pain or failure, but I feel like it’s kind of like a rite of passage to grow as a person and become a person to be respected and a force to be reckoned with.

But I think, after a brief discussion in my English class after the video below, I have found a way.

When you tell someone that everything will be okay, and to just try again, you have to mean it. You have to be invested in it, or at least make it seem like you’re invested in it. I think for me, personally, I need to feel like I’m not alone in this failure, as many people do. So many people feel like when things are going wrong, that it’s just them, it’s just them alone in the world while everything they know if falling apart right under their nose.

But it’s not.

Make me, or whoever, feel like we have someone in our corner. That I’m not trying again for me, I’m trying again for us.

However, in this way, I don’t think you can completely rely on other people to tell you everything will be okay and that you should try again. A lot of the time, since everyone has their own issues, they won’t be there to cater to your needs, and it’s really important that you can do that for yourself.

Remind yourself that everything falls apart sometimes.

“..and sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.”

This is so, so, so important to remember. You are not alone in your failure. The world doesn’t hate you, and the only one against you is yourself.

Have a good cry, listen to sad music, and eat ice cream in your bed.

Then pick yourself up, and tell yourself that you love what you’re doing. This is it; it doesn’t matter if it doesn’t work the first time. Your passion and your love for it is enough to carry you through to success.

“Don’t wait for a light to appear at the end of the tunnel, stride down there and light the bloody thing yourself.”

Be your own hero, and save yourself.. because who knows if anyone else will.

You can do it. I believe in you.

4 thoughts on “Blog Post #27: This Didn’t End The Way I Expected

    partyofone said:
    February 3, 2014 at 7:57 am

    This was beautiful and just the motivation I need to keep studying for AP Euro. Thanks, Stephanie!

      stephanieaaaaa responded:
      February 3, 2014 at 6:39 pm

      Hah, I guess it related to more than I thought it would! Your welcome, and thanks so much, Celine!!

    David Theriault said:
    June 17, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    Loved this.

Leave a Reply

