Blog Post #25: I Need Your Help

Posted on Updated on

bp26

I feel like I’ve been just shooting out post after post, but this is the most important one of this month. If nothing else, at least skim this one; I promise it will be worth your while.

As many of you might know, or probably know, this blog is a school blog. It’s an assignment for my English class, thought it’s starting to feel a lot less like homework, and a lot more like home.

This year, my English teacher has collaborated with another to create a brand new curriculum for my class. We do less traditional learning, like vocab or essays, and focus more on philosophy and psychology type things, like how we can improve ourselves and improve the world around us.

To kickstart these ideas, and “be awesome now”, as Mr. Theriault would say, we have innovation projects. I have joined with three other people to create a Foster Kid Care project.

Especially with the giant abortion controversy, which in my opinion is actually pretty simple, but I will not include politics in this post, orphans and broken families are a growing community. There are kids in the world, who have no family and no one to care for them. Granted, there are orphanages and facilities that help these children, they can only do so much with the limited budgets that they have.

One thing that we fail to realize, and that I haven’t mentioned yet, is that orphans are not just kids; they can also be teenagers. And they aren’t just minors whose parents have died; they could be minors whose families have mistreated them, or disowned them for teen pregnancy or drug abuse. And this, in a way, is worse because it’s not as if they can’t be there for them, it’s that they DON’T WANT to be there for them.

This breaks my heart, and I want to help these kids. I want to help build their future and give them hope and realize their dreams of someday having a family and people who care about them.

That is why, for my innovation project, we are creating a campaign to raise awareness about orphans and orphanages and how you can help. Whether by donating money, or volunteering at a center, there is something and someway for you to help.

We have a contact that works with the Social Services of Santa Barbara, so we will be meeting with the kids who live there to create posters and trigger a domino-effect to help orphans across the globe. One way that we are planning to do this is to create a pen-pal program. If you are interested in this, please comment below with your name, age, and a few of your interests.

Please find it in your heart to help us with the project, and help bring the ever-expanding world a little closer together. Thank you.

4 thoughts on “Blog Post #25: I Need Your Help

    travelingincreation said:
    January 22, 2014 at 2:08 am

    I LOVE YOUR THEME! The fish hook is really cute. 🙂 Anyway, I nominated you for the Liebster Award 🙂 http://travelingincreation.wordpress.com/2014/01/21/this-or-that/

      stephanieaaaaa responded:
      January 22, 2014 at 10:31 pm

      WOW REALLY?? THANKS SO MUCH DOROTHY THAT IS SO INCREDIBLY AMAZING OF YOU!!

    […] assignment to create an innovation project (and those of you who’ve read my other blog posts, I Need Your Help and An Updated Announcement know what I’m talking […]

Leave a Reply

