Blog Post #22: Happy New Year!

Posted on Updated on

It’s time to say goodbye..

So 2013 brought us a lot of great things, and some not-so-great things. There was “Catching Fire”, but Miley Cyrus twerking. There is the amazing new Pope, but Syria is still corrupted. There was so much activism to support gay rights, low-wage workers, immigrants, and honestly, I’d like to just end on a good one.

I don’t know about you, but 2013 was kind of a dead year for me. I finished my first year of high school, and that was a small milestone – a yardstone, if you will, but I don’t think I really did anything worth something, or anything that I’ll look back on and thing, “Yeah, that. I am so glad and proud that I did that.” Except, maybe join the golf team.

I don’t want that to be the rest of my life. I don’t want every year to just pass me by, and think, “This year went by so fast. I don’t even remember it.”

I want every day to last; every single day to be something meaningful where I’ve made a difference, even if its just putting a smile on someone’s face.

I also want to make a difference in myself. So, I’ve made a few resolutions. I think sharing them online will make them a little more difficult to break.

1. be a little more considerate

2. stop biting my fingers

3. put more effort into my appearance

4. be more outgoing/adventurous -or- be more open to trying new things

5. join more fandoms (!!!)

Despite this, there’s always going to be something that I don’t like about myself. We spend so much time thinking about the future and saying, “This will be my resolution for next year.”

Don’t do this!! You never know, there might not even be a tomorrow, let alone a next year. If there is something you don’t like about yourself or your surroundings, change it (only if it’s possible). If you feel like you could be nicer, make an effort. If you feel like your “friends” are toxic to your mental and/or emotional well-being, make new friends. Change is always hard, but it is also constant, and for the best.

We are blessed with a 2014. Make it count.

2 thoughts on “Blog Post #22: Happy New Year!

    claireapritchard said:
    January 6, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    Joining more fandoms is a very important resolution 😝

Leave a Reply

