Blog Post #16: Infinite Stephanies

Posted on Updated on

They say that each person has seven look-alikes in the world, and that always seemed really cool to me. Like, there are seven other people just walking around with the same face as me, and that’s all they ever were: people with faces.

I know this video is slightly old, and many of you, who watch Charlie’s videos, have probably already seen it, but I’ve been reading “Tale of Two Cities”, as you know, and was reminded of it by Sydney Carton, Darnay’s look-alike.

Sydney is basically a drunkard, and has just helped Darnay escape the death sentence because the defense attorney puzzled the witnesses and jury with the thought that maybe, just maybe, they confused Darnay with Carton.

And as good as all this is, Carton seems to dislike Darnay, and the reason for this is pretty simple, and understandable to us now: Darnay gets the girl, Lucie, and Carton, like always, gets nothing.

“A good reason for taking to a man, that he shows you what you have fallen away from, and what you might have been!”

Carton realizes that, despite their strikingly similar features, he and Darnay have a world is difference between them. Back to my thoughts earlier, now these seven people with my face aren’t just ideas; they are real people with real achievements greater or smaller than mine and show me what I could have been.

And that intimidates me just a little bit, because I want to be the best I can be, but there are people who look like me and.. are better than me in every other way.

In his video, Charlie talks about the infinite number of universes and galaxies and how there are millions and millions of Charlies who are just inconsiderably different than him, and do daring things that he wishes he could do.

And he says,

“For me, I kind of like the idea of infinite Charlies, and I will explain why, and what the theory dictates is not only are there an infinite number of identical versions of us out there scattered around the universe, but also there are an infinite number of ever so slightly different versions of us scattered around the universe, and so, for me, personally, when I’m going about my day-to-day life and I make a decision that I regret or I find myself missing an opportunity- I fail to tell a girl I like her or something- then what I like to think about is that somewhere, out there in in the universe, there is a Charlie who did tell the girl he likes her, and not only is there one of them, but there an infinite number of Charlies that made that decision that I was hoping to make, and for some reason that just makes me feel better.”

Now, before I saw this video, I was going about all scared and nervous because there are not only seven of me, but millions and billions of other people, that are better than me.

But, now, there are an infinite number of me who don’t feel that way, are happy with who they are, and never miss a moment to be better people. And that makes me feel better, too.

3 thoughts on “Blog Post #16: Infinite Stephanies

    partyofone said:
    December 4, 2013 at 3:37 am

    Ah Stephanie I love this video and would love infinite yous! (That looks weird; it supposed to be you pluralized, which is still just you…) Sorry I can’t read the whole blog post yet because I haven’t gotten that far in the book. Don’t judge.

      stephanieaaaaa responded:
      December 4, 2013 at 3:40 am

      HAHA, that’s okay! I hope you enjoy this post when you get to it, though! And I could never judge you; you’re too perfect!

        partyofone said:
        December 4, 2013 at 4:20 am

        -blushes- you’re also perfect.

Leave a Reply

