Blog Post #9: Don’t Let Me Be Lonely

Video Posted on Updated on

“Don’t Let Me Be Lonely” is about life and how it goes by just a little too fast. We make mistakes when we’re young, and we’re naive and insecure and lonely, but we’re all in this together (wink wink).

This is by far, one of my favorite songs for several, several reasons.

First of all, who doesn’t get get chills from Kimberly Perry’s voice? Can you answer me that?

[Answer: NO ONE!]

And second of all, I just love the way it starts off slow and heartfelt, and then the emotion and the music just picks up and smashes my heart into tiny little pieces. I cannot get enough of the feeling they give me; like maybe I’m not just a teenager, and maybe I’m part of something bigger, of movement of misunderstood lives too short.

“Dust off a record and just be free”

This is the fifth line and I just really like it a lot, because music seriously is one of my favorite ways to escape reality and just really life up my mood, and I know it acts that way for a lot of people. It’s nice to know that our favorite musicians and artists can acknowledge how much we appreciate them and what they do for us.

“Well the night rolls on like a long lost friend
‘Til the sunrise bleeds like the bitter end”

If you cannot relate so deeply to these two lines, then you probably have a really nice life and I’m so happy for you because almost everyone I know has some days where they just don’t want to have to deal with life anymore because it’s just so overwhelming to be a teenager in this fast-paced, competitive, and merciless world. I don’t mean they are suicidal. I mean that for them, nighttime is a chance to not worry about college and homework and society and being social; it’s a chance to leave all that behind and be themselves. But when the sun rises, it’s the same ridiculous, tired routine over and over again.

“When you’re young
Life’s a dream
It’s a beautiful and a burning thing
We grow up
And then it’s gone
But the memory goes on”

Not only are Kimberly’s vocals in this just the most beautiful thing you’ve ever heard, but the meaning and feeling behind it are so empowering and depressing all in one. Look around you; you will see it. How many people around you are truly happy with themselves and with their lives? And I mean actually happy, not “Oh, well, I could improve.”

It’s like after we start high school, we never experience giddiness over the little things. How many times have you felt a little tingle when you eat ice cream? When was the last time you let out a little giggle while watching an old Disney movie? When was the last time you even watched an old Disney movie?

After we start to become older and more mature and we realize the ways of the world, the stupid, petty ways of the world, no one is ever really happy. It’s the ultimate dream.

But that’s not the way it should be. We should be happy; we should be so happy in our lives, with our friends and family and pets. No one’s life or happiness should be dictated by how much money is in their bank account.

Happiness should be measured by how many dreams you have, how many songs you’ve listened to, how adorable your laugh is, or even the number of lines around your eyes when you smile. Happiness should be measured by the things that signify your happiness, and honestly, money has NOTHING to do with that.

It seems like everyone around us is stuck in this mindset that money is everything, but it’s not and I just get so sick of it. I want to stay in bed and get up when the world is sane. This song keeps me sane and I want to listen to it forever and ever and I want everyone else to feel the same way about it.

I want everyone to hear this song and be lifted and be changed for the better and love it.

PS: By the way, sorry the video isn’t the official music video. I couldn’t find it.

PPS: Is anyone else, like, super excited about Kimberly’s engagement?!

2 thoughts on “Blog Post #9: Don’t Let Me Be Lonely

    partyofone said:
    November 16, 2013 at 8:01 am

    Thanks for introducing me to this song; I could just feel my stress melt away with the opening chords.

      stephanieaaaaa responded:
      November 16, 2013 at 6:25 pm

      Your welcome! It’s just a great song, but you should listen to the rest of their albums.’

Leave a Reply

