Blog Post #6: The Right Thing

Posted on Updated on

bp6

I was reading this blog post, which itself isn’t very long, but the comments are very insightful and I really enjoyed thinking about them.

So, obviously, probably not many of you know this, but I’m on the golf team, and a while ago, I was playing a match and my partner said something that really struck a nerve, but I haven’t really done anything about it until now.

So, that day, my team had seven people, but the other team only had five, so myself and another girl, who was quite new to the game (let’s call her X), played a separate game with a girl (let’s call her Y) from our team and a girl from the other team, who is not really important to this post so she doesn’t get a name.

Now throughout the game, I kept noticing that X and Y were going head to head in the stupidest little tiffs. Finally, after the fifth or so hole, I finally asked X why they were being so annoying, (but note, i did not actually use that word).

And guess what X told me? Just guess, it made me so mad.

She told me that in kindergarten, she bullied Y. And if that wasn’t bad enough, she went on to say that “Y must’ve done something because I don’t just bully people”.

Okay, well, you know what? You should not bully people at all, AT ALL.

They might be awful to you and you might hate their guts, but do not ever bully anyone ever, or you will deal with me because that is not okay.

And if you read the other post, you should know that you do the right thing simply because it is the right thing to do. It doesn’t matter what anyone else has done; you do the right thing because it is the right thing. And that is that.

Now side thought from that: image that the above thought was the center thought bubble, and now we are talking about a less side thought something.

I just can’t remember the word for it right now, but moving on..

What is the right thing? How do you know what is the right thing?

If you read the post I linked in the first sentence, there are really a lot of people who commented about “Well, how do you know if the right thing for you the right thing for someone else?”

Well, the right thing simply is the thing to do with good intentions to help those around you. If it happens to help you, that is just swell for you!

I think this is now the end of this post, so I will just leave you with a couple things to think about, and hopefully implement in the rest of your life:

The right thing is not dictated by someone else’ words, but by your own actions and morals.

And don’t forget: “What Suzie says of Sally says more of Suzie than of Sally.”

Leave a Reply

